Decorating with Maps

Interiors for Families

For me, there’s nothing quite like an old map. It’s a window into the past, to the way we once lived. Everything about it is from a specific moment in time – the printing technique, typefaces, atlas creases, coloring, and of course the geographic features of the map itself. I have three antique maps (two are reproductions) custom framed and hanging in my home. They are the only things I actually stop to look at on a virtually daily basis, and they are quite the conversation pieces when we entertain guests.

1876 Map of Genesee County, NY

Several years ago I purchased (on Ebay) an 1876 atlas map of Genesee County, NY – where I was born and raised. This is hanging in my second floor hallway, outside of my son’s room. I love how colorful the map is – no two adjacent towns are the same hue. It would look great just about anywhere.

When…

View original post 230 more words

One Comment on “Decorating with Maps”

  1. Maps are what got me interested to travel/tourism marketing. I love nautical maps. Local tourism maps are great too because they almost speak another, strictly local visual language.


Leave a Reply

